Music / Songs

[New Music]: Denzel Curry – “Envy Me”

Screen Shot 2015-03-12 at 8.51.35 PM

I’ve been a fan of Denzel Curry since the first time I saw him perform, at a Boiler Room event in NYC in October 2013. It’s literally impossible to accurately describe the energy he brings to a live show, but know that short of maybe Travi$ Scott, I haven’t seen a better performer in that lane.

Curry’s ability to bring his music to life is what made me a fan, and any time he’s dropped a new record since, all I can think about is how wonderfully it’s going to translate to performance. His latest, “Envy Me,” is one of the best I’ve heard from him yet, and the fact that we’ve got him on our official SXSW show next Friday has my excitement through the roof.

“Envy Me” is the second single off his forthcoming double EP 32 Zel / Planet Shrooms, which is set to release on May 26. It’s produced by Ronny J and laced with a slow-rolling hook sandwiched by high-octane verses, the perfect juxtaposition for a repeat-worthy cut. I’ll be listening to this one til he tears down Container Bar with it a week from tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

