Editorial

Real Rap Raw

IMG_2458

RAWKAINE is out here to serve like your neighborhood pharmacist. From here on out, Sundays will be the day for you to come here and find some tracks you should be listening to. Rather than the traditional “let’s round out what happened this week” type of post, I’m just going to be posting everything that I think should be in your rotation. It could be Rob Zombie or Rich Gang, but I promise to bring that Real Rap Raw.  

meek-mill-fuck-you-mean-mp3-download-lil-boosie

Meek Mill – Fuck You Mean (feat. Lil Boosie)

The streets really needed this. My first listen on this record came while I was walking out of my Psych class headed to the library. I should have known better. As soon as I got into the library, I couldn’t help but have visions of anarchy. It took every ounce of self-control not to pull my lighter out of my pocket and go around setting loose sheets of paper ablaze.

travis-scott-drive-the-1975-remix

Travi$ Scott – Drive (The 1975 Remix)

I was super late on this. Drive was quite possibly my favorite record off of Trav’s debut Owl Pharaoh, and The 1975 took it to a whole new level. If you remember, this duo also made for a great collaboration on Don’t Play. Let’s only hope that they continue to cut some work together.

IMG_9169

Fetty Wap – Trap Queen

What’s there really to say about this song that we didn’t cover yesterday? I’m not sure that anything else in my life has mattered since Trap Queen became apart of it. Granted, that’s only been about 12 hours, but still… I don’t think I’ll ever care about anything else. The last time I felt this way was when I saw The Notebook in high school. It was due time that a true love story was brought to the bando; and for that, we thank you Fetty Wap. [sidenote: this also might be the greatest rap moniker of the 21st century]

vVzeW26

Rich Gang – Milk Marie 

Sticking with the theme of true love blossoming in the bando, here is (oddly) my favorite record from Quan, Young Thug, & Birdman’s recent Rich Gang: The Tour Pt. 1 endeavor. I mean, what’s more beautiful than someone saying “even if you got stretch marks and two children, I can’t blame you girl”? Nothing. Absolutely nothing. These last two songs will be on repeat at my wedding.

public

ZMoney – Public (feat. King Louie)

“I sell dope in public. I smoke gas in public”… What else do I really need to cover here? If you aren’t familiar with Chicago’s ZMoney, then here’s a good place to start. Z sets the tone for Louie to just come in saying some real disrespectful things about sisters, friends, and cousins. Let’s hope once Z gets out that we get some more collabs between these two. FREE ZMONEY

Leave a Reply

