Music / Songs

Five Songs I Couldn’t Stop Listening To This Week

If all goes as planned, this will turn into a series I add to every weekend. Basically I’m going to highlight five songs I couldn’t stop listening to each week leading up to the post. They can be new or old, rap or otherwise—I’ll just drop the links with a short explanation of why I couldn’t stop listening to them.

Cousin Stizz – “Shoutout”

I’m admittedly biased here, but at least the stats on this track through its first few weeks on the internet back up what I believe to be true—”Shoutout” is one of the hottest songs of the summer. Search “shoutout to the money” on Twitter and you’ll see how many other people are talking about it too, including A$AP Bari and Spooky Black. It’s entrancing and can pretty much be played in any situation.

 

Father ft. iLoveMakonnen & Key! – “Look At Wrist”

It makes no sense how good this song is. Wrist wrist wrist wrist wrist wrist.

Tunji Ige ft. Michael Christmas & iLoveMakonnen – “Day2Day Remix”

The original was great, but the remix took it to entirely new levels. This is probably the best hook/beat combo of the summer, and Tunji crafted both. He’s 19, from Philly, and someone you should definitely be looking out for.

Chance The Rapper – “Acid Rain”

I watched Chance and his band perform live in front of 60,000 at Lollapalooza last weekend (through my laptop screen, but it was still incredible) and had to go back and give Acid Rap a few spins earlier this week. Straight up, it’s the best hip-hop album of not just 2013, but 2014 as well. I don’t see anything topping it the rest of the year either, unless Kanye or Kendrick come with a classic. “Acid Rain” is beautiful and features some of the most brilliant wordplay I’ve ever heard. It’s a truly moving track, one that I’ll look forward to introducing to my future children.

 

Young Thug & Rich Homie Quan – “Lifestyle”

I love this song. It’s a unique flavored banger, and I’ve really been feeling the “did a lot of shit to live this here lifestyle” line this whole week as it relates to my life at the moment.

Leave a Reply

