Music / TFH Exclusive

10 Things I Learned at SXSW 2014

sxsw_generic_mgn

Much to my temporary dismay, SXSW round two is officially in the books. I returned to the frigid temperatures of Boston Monday afternoon following a week in Austin and immediately started reflecting on what I know will end up being one of the best weeks of my year… again. It makes sense though. For anyone who works in the music business in any capacity, SXSW is basically a weeklong party and the only guests in attendance are dope people who live for the same things you do. The streets are littered with a whole lot of other types of people too, but none of that matters. There’s too much good going on in Austin the week of SXSW to care about anything else.

Memories from last year’s festival still haven’t faded, and I know the same’s gonna go for these new ones. For me, SXSW is quickly becoming one of my favorite benchmarks for measuring success. Last year was my first time in Austin, and in the 365 days between then and my arrival this time around, my status and network grew immensely. I think pretty much everyone in my circle would say the same about themselves too. And it was a great feeling realizing this. Instead of going into the week just hoping to link with a few people and seeing where things took me like last year, I entered Austin with a packed schedule and a sense that I knew or was no more than one degree of separation away from everyone there.

It was an incredibly productive, enjoyable week, and looking back on it all, I decided it was necessary to compile a list of the 10 things I learned at SXSW 2014. Whether philosophical musings, notes on artists or broad conclusions about the festival itself, here they are. Hit the jump and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

