Albums/Mixtapes / Music / Songs

[New Music]: Dom Kennedy – My Type Of Party (prod. DJ Dahi)

Dom Kennedy’s been quiet since last year’s Westside II release, but at long last, we got a new track. “My Type Of Party” is the first single off the Yellow Album, which is expected to drop sometime in late June, and it’s the perfect kick-off-the-summer-right type banger.

DJ Dahi laced Dom with one of the hardest beats I’ve heard this year, and Dom killed it. “My Type Of Party” has been getting some mixed reactions since it dropped yesterday evening, but I love it. Dom needed a song like this. When he released “Grind’N” as the first single off Westside II last summer, I wasn’t sure if I was going to like the album. The song had a different sound, much like “My Type Of Party” has a different sound, but as it turned out, every song on Westside II was unique and not one sounded like “Grind’N.”

So fear not, Dom fans. Even if you aren’t feeling this one, I know you’re gonna be able to rock with the Yellow Album.

I’m gonna stay bumping this for a while, though. My iTunes play count is already over 20. I’m gonna be upset if this isn’t playing at every party I go to this summer.

Listen and download above, and stay tuned for more Dom K.

Rap Genius LyricsDom Kennedy – “My Type Of Party”

Leave a Reply

